Looking for a copy of the rules? Find them here: Rulebook - 7.6MB
Have a question about the game? You can send it to firstname.lastname@example.org
When two people are on the same space and one leaves, do they leave a zombie token in the space with the remaining player?
A zombie token is only placed on a space if that space is empty when the player moves off of it. When the second player leaves, place a zombie token on that space.
When I move over a zombie space with gas, do I put another zombie token on that space?
Can I use gas to move over resource spaces?/Can I use gas to move over a zombie space if that space also has a resource in it?
No, but you can use gas in an attempt to move around them!
If multiple zombie tokens are on a space, does a single gas token still bypass that space without resolving the tokens, or is a separate gas required for each zombie token?
A single gas will get you past ALL zombies in a space. Zombies don't do well with moving vehicles.
If I use gas to move through a space with a zombie token, does that count as one of my movements for the turn?
Yes. Using up a gas to move through a zombie will replace one of your moments for the turn.
What is an unoccupied space?
Any space (including Locations, and resource spaces) is deemed unoccupied if there are no other players or zombie tokens occupying that space.
When you flip up a zombie token do you need to try and kill all of the zombies or do you just need to survive the attack?
After rolling your Dice Pool, you may choose to use ammo to kill more zombies, but you do not suffer penalties for choosing to just survive the attack by taking fatigue or losing followers.
Can you leave a space, then step back back into the space you just left, fight the zombie that was just placed there, and attempt to gain the resources that are there again?
You can absolutely move back on to a space. There is no rule preventing you from ending where you began, as long as you moved. This does mean you can collect resources multiple times.
Do zombie tokens get placed on character starting spaces?
They do. Those bastards are everywhere.
Can two players be on the same spot or location?
Yes, players can occupy the same space on the board. North Georgia has room enough for everybody!
Can you go through a player with gas as you do with a zombie?
Wow that's mean. No, you can't and don't use gas to move through the same space as another player. They'll just let you through.
When I gain resources from encounter cards, do I get to trigger Glenn's ability or is that only for resource spaces?
Glenn's ability only triggers when collecting a resource from a resource space.
How do I interpret Glen's other ability? If a player rolls a die that come up as 2x actions, and the player uses the power to change it to a kill, does it become 2x kills?
No, Glen only changes one result. Multiple results (x2) count as two separate results.
If a Challenge says that I need to roll a certain number of actions, do I roll Otis' die?
No. Only roll Otis' die when fighting against zombies.
What happens when you are Dale and you use a gas to move over zombies?
You move over zombies as normal with gas; you don't move an additional space. Dale's ability comes into play when using gas to move extra spaces on your turn.
What happens when you have Rick/Carl, Donna/Ben, Carol/Sophia, Rachel/Susie, or Andrea/Amy and you would take fatigue from fighting zombies?
You can't choose to place fatigue on Carl, Ben, Sophia, Susie, or Amy, but you can distribute any fatigue taken among the remaining members of your party.
When you are instructed to drop a follower, does the survivor retain their fatigue?
The fatigue does not remain, but you may play more challenging home rules where the fatigue does remain.
Is there a limit to how many followers I can have?
If you play alone, do you still start with a follower?
You sure do! But if you want to make things more challenging...skip the follower.
Regarding Andrea's ability, does "discard a follower" include when the player is left behind? Or does "discard" only mean when the follower leaves the game entirely?
Andrea's ability is triggered only when the follower leaves the game, not just left behind.
How many of each resource can I use each turn?
You can use as much food and ammo as you have, but you can only use a maximum of three gas per turn.
What happens when you're doing multiple encounters and fail an encounter that says "Do not collect any resources for this encounter?"
After completing all of your encounters collect all of your resources minus one of your choice. Example: A player lands on a space with three resources. They fail two encounters that say "do not collect any resources for this encounter." The player elects to collect an ammo resource and ends their turn.
What happens when you're on a resource space and you draw "It Was an Accident"? If you choose to succeed and move to a new space, do you still collect the resources from the space you were originally on?
Yes, you still collect the resource(s) from the space that you originally landed on.
What happens when you draw "It Was an Accident" while trying to scout a location?
If you choose to move to the new space in order to succeed at the encounter, you will still win the Location, provided you meet the remaining scout requirements.
When you choose to move to a new space in order to succeed at "It Was an Accident"'s challenge, do you leave a trail of zombie tokens?
If I move to a resource space while completing "It Was an Accident," do I draw new encounters for the new resources?
No. Your turn ends once you have completed all encounters for the Location or resource space that you were originally on.
When I use "Keep Your Guns Out" from my inventory, which zombie-occupied spaces do I clear?
Destroy any zombie tokens in spaces adjacent to you. Then destroy any zombie tokens in the spaces adjacent to the first ring around you. Then destroy any zombie tokens in spaces adjacent to those. It's a zombie massacre, yo.
What's the difference between "Survive a Zombie Attack" and "Kill X Zombies"?
You succeed at "Survive Zombie Attack" challenges as long as no members of your party die; you do not need to kill all of the zombies attacking you.
"Working Together"'s challenge reads, "you may choose to give (2x Food) to another player. If you do, you succeed at this challenge." What happens if you don't have enough food?
You would automatically fail the challenge.
"Don't Have Any Left"'s success says that you may lose any combination of 2 (gas) or (ammo) to find (food). If you choose not to exchange your resources, do you still succeed at the challenge?
"Kicked Out"'s challenge says "Choose a player, and they must decide whether or not to lose (2x gas). You succeed at this if they do not lose (x2 gas)." What happens if the chosen player has only (x1 gas)?
That player is unable to lose (gas gas), resulting in an automatic success for you.
If you land on a space with multiple resources, how do you know which resource to use for the first encounter and so on? Do you choose?
When landing a space that requires multiple encounters you gain resources AFTER completing all encounters for that space, not as you complete them. If you fail an encounter and are told to not collect resources for that encounter, you pick which one not to collect.
If you are trying to scout a location and are told to leave a follower on that space as a part of failing an encounter, where does that follower go? How can you regain that follower?
The follower token is placed on the location space you are on. You may try to regain the follower next turn, and then attempt to re-scout the location, regardless of your success in collecting the follower.
If you draw the card "Mobile Escape" and all other players have already scouted their locations, can you simply give your location away to succeed at the encounter? Or do you have to fail because no one can give a location back to you?
If you can't make the swap, you fail the challenge. You can't just give it away.
When a card says you can do something to a player within a certain number of spaces, does this include players you are cooperating with since they're technically in your space?
When can players choose to join up?
Players can join when they occupy the same space. Players can only team up, though, if they START the turn in the same space. You canít move into a space, pick up another player, and continue. The choice to move with another player is always up to the non-active player. That is, if Players A & B are on a space at the start of player A's turn, Player B may choose to move with them and team up. At the start of Player B's turn, Player A may choose NOT to move with Player B. Simply put, no one gets left behind...but you *can* choose to remain behind.
When in cooperative play with other players and a card requires you to roll more actions than survivors in your party, do all the characters and followers from the other players count as survivors in your party?
They sure do. There can be drawbacks to being in a big group!
The manual says that BLAM! (just BLAM!, x2,or x3) kills a 1, 2 or 3 zombies respectively, but the figure right under that seems to say that a BLAM! result kills two zombies. Which is it supposed to be?
The black ammo die has three different BLAM! Results. BLAM! results in 1 dead zombie, BLAM! x2 results in two dead zombies, and BLAM! x3 results in three dead zombies. The graphic in the manual is a zombie-enduced typo.
Some of the dice are completely blank on some sides. Is this a misprint? Or are they supposed to signify just a nil result on a die roll?
The blank sides of the dice have been left that way intentionally, representing a failed attempt at either an action or a kill.
Can multiple rolls of the black die attracting zombies lead to multiple zombie tokens on a space?
BLAM effects CAN and DO create zombie stacks.
Are you required to roll all the dice in your pool, or can you opt to not roll a die? For example, if a card requires you to roll for actions, can you choose to not roll Otis's black die in order to avoid attracting Zombies?
You must roll all dice. However, Otis' die is specifically ONLY rolled in combat.
What do I do if my dice pool results in more of a dice color than is provided in the game?
You would reroll as many dice as necessary. We recommend rerolling blank results first.
What happens when all my survivors die?
When all your survivors die you have the option to restart the game with a new starting character, follower and personal Location card. Reset all of your resources to one and discard any Inventory items or Location cards you have won throughout the course of the game.
What happens when you run out of Encounter cards?
Shuffle all of cards in the Encounter discard pile and it becomes the new Encounter deck.
When you land on a space with a zombie token that also has either a resource or a follower token, which do you resolve first? Do you get to choose the order?
When landing on a space with multiple items to resolve, complete them in the following order: Fight the zombie token; Collect the follower token; Complete encounters for each resource.